Tiesto, Pearl Jam, Black Eyed Peas, Def Leppard


Tiesto is the stage name of Tijs Michiel Verwest. He was born on January 17, 1969 in Breda, North Brabant, Netherlands. In 2001 he released his first solo album In My Memory which gave him several major hits that launched his career as well as his remix of Delerium’s “Silence” featuring Sarah McLachlan which exposed him to more mainstream audiences. He was crowned the “World’s No.1 DJ” 3 consecutive times by DJ Magazine from 2002 through 2004. On 6 April, 2004 Tiesto released his second studio album entitled Just Be. The album features BT, Kirsty Hawkshaw, and Aqualung on vocals. There is also a remake of Samuel Barber’s Adagio for Strings. The album’s singles were Love Comes Again, Traffic, Just Be (the title track), and Adagio for Strings. Just after releasing his second studio album Just Be in 2004, at the Summer Olympics he performed live at the opening ceremony in Athens, Greece becoming the first DJ to play live on stage at an Olympics Games. Tiesto has since released two more studio albums which include Parade of the Athletes in 2004 and Elements of Life in 2007. Tiesto is currently working on his next studio album which as of now doesn’t have a title.

Pearl Jam

Pearl Jam is an American rock band that formed in Seattle, Washington in 1990. Since its inception, the band’s line-up has included Eddie Vedder on lead vocals and guitar, Jeff Ament on bass guitar, Stone Gossard on rhythm guitar, and Mike McCready on lead guitar. The band’s current drummer is Matt Cameron, formerly of Soundgarden, who has been with the band since 1998. On August 27, 1991, Pearl Jam released it’s debut album, Ten through Epic records. By late 1992 it had reached number two on the Billboard 200 chart. The album produced three hit singles: “Alive”, “Even Flow”, and “Jeremy” and has been certified platinum thirteen times over. While Pearl Jam received four awards at the 1993 MTV Video Music Awards for its video for “Jeremy”, including Video of the Year and Best Group Video, the band refused to make a video for “Black” in spite of pressure by the label. They headed back to the studio and worked on their latest album. Released on October 19, 1993, Pearl Jam’s second album, Vs., sold a record 950,378 copies in its first week of release and outperformed all other entries in the Billboard top ten that week combined. Pearl Jam has since gone on to release seven more studio albums.

Black Eyed Peas

Black Eyed Peas is an American hip-hop group that was formed in Los Angeles, California in 1995. The group is composed of Will.I.Am, apl.de.ap, Taboo and Fergie. The Black Eyed Peas was signed to Interscope Records and released their debut Behind the Front in mid 1998. The album won the Peas (and their accompanying live band, the Bucky Jonson) critical acclaim and success. It featured the single “Joints & Jams”, which was included on the soundtrack of the Academy Award-nominated film Bulworth. Their second album, Bridging the Gap, was released in 2000; it featured the single “Request Line” featuring Macy Gray. The album sold 1.2 million copies worldwide. In 2003, the Black Eyed Peas released their third studio album, Elephunk. was their first commercially-successful album, selling over four million copies worldwide, and their first album to feature their new female vocalist, Fergie. Singles released from Elephunk included “Where Is the Love?”, “Shut Up”, “Hey Mama” and “Let’s Get It Started”. The Black Eyed Peas has since gone on to release two more albums, “Monkey Business” in 2005 and “The E.N.D.” in 2009. The Black Eyed Peas has has sold an estimated twenty seven million albums and singles worldwide.

Def Leppard

Def Leppard was formed in 1977 as part of the New Wave of British Heavy Metal movement in Sheffield, England. Rick Savage (bass), Pete Willis (guitar), and Tony Kenning (drums), all students at Tapton School in Sheffield, formed a band called Atomic Mass in 1977. Following a chance meeting with Willis after missing a bus, 18-year old Joe Elliott tried out for the band as a guitarist. During his audition, however, it was decided that he was better suited to be the lead singer. Soon afterward they adopted a name proposed by Elliott, “Deaf Leopard“, which was originally a band name he thought up while writing reviews for imaginary rock bands in his English class. At Kenning’s suggestion, the spelling was slightly modified in order to make the name seem less like that of a punk band and perhaps also as an indirect homage to Led Zeppelin. In 1980 Def Leppard released it’s debut album, On Through the Night. Then on July 11, 1981 they released High ‘n’ Dry. Its title song “High ‘n’ Dry” made #33 on VH1’s 40 Greatest Metal Songs and was a moderate success. But, it wasn’t until their 1983 release, Pyromania that the band would find super stardom. It broke the band across North America and in Japan, and would sell over 10 million copies in the US alone. It featured new guitarist Phil Collen and was produced by Robert John “Mutt” Lange. Def Leppard has since released eight more studio albums and have enjoyed record sales in excess of sixty-five million units.